New Year Goals

At the turn of every year, millions of people make resolutions for the new year ahead. When I was younger, I joined in with the merry resolution-making, usually vowing to study harder, work out more, eat better, find love, travel… the list went on and on. Several years ago, I decided to cease making resolutions. They were always intangible and so hard to keep. Life (or laziness) always interfered and the resolution would disappear like wisps of smoke in the wind. Instead, I started making goals – specific, measurable goals for the year ahead. I will admit that I was not always able to meet my goals in that specific year, but I’ve been able to cross each off in some way at some point in time, even if it was five years later. And, unlike with resolutions, I never felt that sense of defeat or disappointment if the goal wasn’t met within the specific year it was set.

This year, my goals are simple, but they will still take some work to be achieved. And I’ve made sure to set them in such a way that they are achievable for this year, yet not so easy as to offer no challenge. I’ve tried to write them in red lipstick on the bathroom mirror, but my boyfriend (justifiably) objected. The mirror is pretty small and red just isn’t our color. Instead, I opted to share them here so that all of you can help hold me accountable. In 2015, I will achieve the following:

  • Finish writing the sequel to A Life Interrupted for publication in December 2015.
  • Read and review 75 books, including books by indie authors.
  • Get back into running and train for a half marathon.
  • Drop at least 2 pant sizes through running and eating at least 4 servings of veggies each day.

The best way to achieve goals is to start chipping away at them from the start. Today, January 1, 2015, is the perfect day to start achieving for the rest of the year. My morning was spent finishing an indie book, Shattered Reality by Brenda Perlin, which I started last week. The book was really good and I left her a glowing review on Amazon and Goodreads. At noon, I hit the gym to start running again. I jogged/walked 2.94 miles in 45 minutes and completed Week 1 Day 1 of the Couch to 5k program. Once this post is done, I will get to work on my latest rough draft. By the time the sun sets today, I will feel a sense of accomplishment that I haven’t felt in a few months.

Of course, I can’t do all of this everyday – I have a pretty demanding full-time job that takes up most of my time and a boyfriend and a needy Golden Retriever who like attention now and again. But it’s important to take advantage of days off to accomplish as much as possible. And to give rewards for working toward the goals! My reward today is a few glasses of malbec. Hey, I burned over 300 calories while running, I deserve this! 😉

What are some of your resolutions or goals for the year?

Leave a Reply

