The Muse Waits for No One.

Sometimes, I find inspiration at the least opportune moments… like when I am at work and trying to research mold assessment and remediation courses for professional development. In the middle of choosing the 40-hour course or the quick 8-hour initial class, I am suddenly overwhelmed with the urge to drop everything and write something that actually interests me. Of course, that’s not what I’m paid to do here and it creates quite the quandary.

In the end, I completed my research – I can’t take any courses until it’s approved by the higher ups anyway – and here I am writing up a quick blog post to get some joy out of writing. I just don’t have enough time to spend on the creative stuff here unless I’m okay with getting no billable work done. Sometimes, I am okay with that, but given the recent holidays and the need to catch up on stuff, I have to focus, muse be damned.

I think the muse has been inspired by the reorganization that I did on Monday since she’s done this to me every day since then. I want to tell her to stop, but I refuse to piss her off. What if she never comes back? It’s not worth the risk. Instead, I will ply her with short, random bursts of time that I can devote to jotting down notes or ideas. It’s still early in the day and I will have 5 minutes here and 10 there to let her out of the cage. Anything to keep her from getting mad at me!

For now, it’s back to the billable work. Write on, my friends!

3 thoughts on “The Muse Waits for No One.

Leave a Reply

