The End of Days… or the end of my vacation.

The vacation is over and it is back to the daily grind. I enjoyed my visit back to the homeland (New Jersey), but I am happy to be away from the bitter cold and dreary, gray scenery. It’s not exactly warm here right now since a front moved in, but it is nearly 30 degrees warmer than up than with the promise of being warmer in a few days.

 

Even though the vacation was filled with holiday gatherings, catching up with family and friends, and my sister’s wedding planning activities, I still found ample relaxation time. I managed to write 3,500 words of my new short story, three blog posts, watch one and a half seasons of the show Suits and half a season of CSI, play with the animals, and catch up on lost sleep. Most of that was completed in a two-day span when everyone else was a work and I was home alone with no desire to brave the cold.

 

All in all, I deem this vacation a huge success. The only way it could have been better is if the setting was on a tropical island with 80 degree temperatures. 

 

Now it is back to work for one day, off for New Year’s Day, and back to work the rest of the week. Today is one of those useless days since there is not much to do here. I have two billable items to work on which will total about 4 hours of billability and will only take about 2.5 hours to complete. Which means, I have a lot of time on my hands at the office. Days like these make me wish I could bring my iPad to work and stealthily plod away on my stories. Instead, I’ve come up with a viable plan to kill some time and not get into trouble for not being billable. 

We have a new girl starting next Monday and her work space has to be cleared of storage boxes. My plan is to rearrange my office to create a larger desk area and some space for our equipment cabinet. This will clear an area for the storage boxes until they can be removed to a permanent storage area and make her desk accessible. More importantly, this will give me a larger desk to show my supreme dominance! Uh huh, that’s right.

So, I guess I should get started on my plan since it is already 10 AM. Only two hours until lunch time!

Leave a Reply

