Inspiration and Motivation

I need help.  Finally, the edits are complete and now it is time for the rewrite.  Only problem, I have lost my motivation.  Add to that, all of my usual inspiring thoughts and methods are leaving me high and dry.  What’s a girl to do?

Normally, when it comes to writing, I am inspiration comes in the form of a gorgeous Gulf Coast sunset, birds flying low over the water, my dog wagging her tail, my boyfriend’s loving smile… the inspiration is almost always there, waiting in the wings of my life.  Today, my sweet boyfriend is very sick, my dog is worried about her daddy, it’s cloudy, and there nary a bird to be found in our cove.  Obviously, fate is messing with me.

Motivation usually strikes me at the most inopportune moments – when I am knee-deep in billable work at my day job, when I’m driving across the state and no cell phone charger, in line at the grocery store, in the shower when I’m already running late for work… basically, it strikes whenever I am otherwise occupied and all I really want to do is write.

It comes as no surprise that both inspiration and motivation would abandon me like a redheaded step-child when I need them so much.  That is my Irish luck, after all.

Please, tell me how you find inspiration and motivation, or what you do when they leave you alone and cold on the streets.  I really need all of the help I can get!

2 thoughts on “Inspiration and Motivation

  1. I usually take a moment to listen for my characters. They’re almost always talking, telling me how they’re doing, what’s going on in their world. Doesn’t always have squat to do with the story, but it gets me back in the groove. I’ll write what they’re telling me and quite often, it comes back to the story. On rare occasions, I’ll end up with a whole other story, but that too gets me back into the groove. Hope this works. And if you ever want to trade views (I have a few pines and the rest of the townhouse complex visible from my windows, lol), just let me know. Oh, and hope the boyfriend gets better soon too.

    • That is a wonderful way to find inspiration! I will have to take some moments to listen and learn from my characters. Thank you so much for sharing your methods!

      The boyfriend is much better now, thanks! Oh, and we have a spare bedroom if you ever feel the pressing need to watch the water for hours on end! 😉

Leave a Reply

