Road Trip

It always amusing me when I feel like I need a vacation after a vacation.  We had a whirlwind trip up to Doylestown, PA for Tom’s brother’s wedding – Tom drove up with the pupster last Wednesday/Thursday after the tropical storm finally cleared out and I flew up on Friday evening.  Of course, my plane was delayed for hours and we were going to Tom’s 25 year reunion event that night.  Somehow, we fit in a car wash, a trip to my parents, and numerous other little things into a packed weekend.  Then, to top it off, I drove back to Florida yesterday in a marathon 18 hour drive with the pup. 

To say I am exhausted is an understatement. 

The wedding was super fun, though, so that counts for a lot.  I danced my butt off – which served as the only exercise I’ve had in a while – and the food was surprisingly delicious.  Tom’s family is a fun group and always make me feel welcome.  It was also a treat to see all the lush green oak trees and grass.  That is something that we both miss being down here – palm trees are beautiful but grass is nonexistent (crab grass does not count!).

We are both very happy to be home though.  Next time we take a vacation, it better be a staycation where we can sleep in our own comfy king bed, lounge on the beach, and swim in the salty Gulf water.  No more road trips for this girl for a while.

2 thoughts on “Road Trip

  1. A nice vignette of Americana, like a Norman Rockwell painting for the 21st century. I enjoyed reading it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

